7.04 Each runner, other than the batter, may without liability to be put out, advance one base when—
. . .
(c) A fielder, after catching a fly ball, falls into a bench or stand, or falls across ropes into a crowd when spectators are on the field;
Rule 7.04(c) Comment: If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should fall into a stand or among spectators or into the dugout or any other out-of-play area while in possession of the ball after making a legal catch, or fall while in the dugout after making a legal catch, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder fell into, or in, such out-of-play area.
The whole “without liability to be put out” means the runner can casually stroll to the next base as soon as the fielder falls into the stands….unless I’m missing something. So, less than two outs, tie game, bottom of the ninth…let the ball drop if you might fall into the stands or the dugout! That’s crazy you could make a spectacular play falling into the dugout, normally have plenty of time to throw out a tagging runner from third, but he’s safe because of this rule, and you lose.
Is that right? Have you seen this happen?