Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Umpire interference

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Umpire interference

    What is the rule if a batted ball hits an umpire in fair territory?

    Suppose for example a batter hits a screaming line drive that hits the umpire in fair ground behind 1st base in a hard spot on the body like an elbow and the ball ricochets into the stands without either bouncing or being touched by a fielder?

    Would this be:

    a foul ball?
    a ground rule double?
    an out?
    Or a single and additional bases, if any awarded at the discretion of the umpires?

  • #2
    Originally posted by Fai Mao View Post
    What is the rule if a batted ball hits an umpire in fair territory?

    Suppose for example a batter hits a screaming line drive that hits the umpire in fair ground behind 1st base in a hard spot on the body like an elbow and the ball ricochets into the stands without either bouncing or being touched by a fielder?

    Would this be:

    a foul ball?
    a ground rule double?
    an out?
    Or a single and additional bases, if any awarded at the discretion of the umpires?
    None of the above. An umpire struck by a batted ball in fair territory is considered part of the playing field. Play on.

    Edit: re going into the stands untouched - it 'might' be ruled a ground rule double, but if not specified in the particular stadiym's ground rule, entitles each baserunner and the batter to the next base not reached prior to the play. That part could be tricky, some parks rule any fair ball into the stands that isn't a home run to be a ground rule double. Some limit the rule to the defined perimeter of the OF fence.

    Comment

    Working...
    X